Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Week

by

This week is Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Week. This closely affects myself as I have a CHD. Despite the fact it was technically fixed at birth I still have abnormalities compared to the normal average person and I feel these every day. Mind you I’m not bitching because facts faces: without what I live with now, I would be dead. Small mercies etc… but still I feel lucky to be alive. But this week always makes me sad, sad that other people live like me too, that babies are born every day with a CHD, that another family is ripped apart and has to put themselves back together by themselves and hope they survive it. I was incredibly lucky, but I know that some are not… CHD can affect lives before they have even had the chance to live to the point that most of their ability to live is lost, if not all of it. So this week I will be lighting a candle every day for all those who live with a CHD, be it themselves or their families that live with it too.

Leave a comment